Rules Draft Info Schedule Standings Teams Stats
Trades Calculator COB Home Smacktalk Hall of Fame Archives


2014 Season Archive

The Church of the Oblongball celebrated its 22nd birthday in 2014, and with it came new delights for a patient veteran of the league. While much of the game remained the same as years prior, there was an interesting 'blast from the past', and as always, a shift in who becomes the new star players of the league.

As everyone knows, draft day is a sacred event for the league commissioner. Sadly, in 2014, due to a few complications, it was not possible to hold to the labor day weekend party tradition. Even worse, we had to resort, again, to a Skype conference call. While never the preferred option, it got the job done.

Nobody recycles better than the Church of the Oblongball. The Nasty Bastards Owner was not feeling the primal pull of football like he once did and relinquished the rights to his team. This opened the door for an old familiar face, Becky and her Burnt Weeny Sandwich. The return was celebrated with her theme song, "The Bitch is Back!" 

What is it about the league commissioner and the damn fullback position? Every year, it seems, there is a tweak to this rule. After further consideration, it was decided to go back to the original rule and draft a fullback by name, not team. Just before the draft, a select group of "eligible" fullbacks where assigned. This is what separates this league from the rest of the online garbage leagues.

Let's get to the action on the field. For most of the season, it looked like the Spanish Fly Inquisition was going to take on the Jughuffers to defend their title, with each team winning three team of the week awards. The Whiners where in the shadows, but the Hamsterhiders were the late surge that caught us all by surprise. Did I say surprise? How about the P-Town Punkrockers sneaking up with new star receiver, Dez Bryant, and taking their first trophy since they joined the league in 2001. 

2014 Season Awards:

  • Superbowl Winner:

                     Carl Rochan

  • League MVP: Aaron Rodgers
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Aaron Rodgers
  • Defensive Player of the Year: J.J. Watt

* Church of the Oblongball is a reserved domain name for the
purpose of a private fantasy football league. All information found
on this site is intended only to provide information to the twelve
members of the league. This league is for entertainment only.